My nine year old has never been one to take things slowly, but after stacking his bike on the way home from school, he’s discovering how fragile the skin on your knees can be. He’s managed to outdo his older brother and be the first to have stitches, surely a rite of passage for every boy. I shudder to think how much worse it could have been and I will be eternally grateful to a lady in the park who heard his screams and came to his rescue and stayed with him until I arrived.  (you can all thank me later for not posting the ‘before’ image, but I’ve already used the ‘damaged’ theme)

13 thoughts on “114 FRAGILE

  1. You’re right, 9 is abit late in life for stitches, by the time I was 8 I had already tangled with a Morris Minor and come out second best. But as far as simple knee scrapes go the tripple thread makes it look impresive. Tell him I said way to go! LOL

    Like

  2. Ewwwwwww….ouch!!! But I am sure he is proud of those stitches. If he is like my boys he has probably already showed them off to all his friends lol I think these injuries are worse on mom than the boys!!

    Like

  3. Ouch too, impressive stitching though. I know how painful an injured knee can bee. I had a run in with a sheep (and you can laugh all you want 🙂 ) years ago and ended up with a hairline fracture on the knee joint. On crutches for 6 weeks. Needless to say, not a mark on the sheep 🙂

    Like

  4. Ah yes, I remember those days…I’ll never forget scrubbing my knee with what appeared to be steel wool and a bowl of iodine before adding the stitches. Ouch!

    Like

Leave a Reply

